Cited for the first time in 1, the village was, during the Revolution, renamed Symphorian, then Phorien-s.-Sèvre because its initial syllable had the same assonance as the proscribed adjective. The town can be proud of having seen the birth of the ancestor of Lyndon Baines Johnson, 36th president of the United States: Pierre-François Creuzé, born in 1693, persecuted Huguenot, emigrated to England, then to the Americas. Amédée de La Porte, mayor of St-Symphorien and owner of the Château de Lens, was, in the 19th century, chief of staff of the Minister of Public Works, then Under-Secretary of State for the Navy. His son Henri also embarked on a distinguished career as Minister of Public Education, permanent secretary of the Académie Française and one of the major political players in Deux-Sèvres.

What to see in Saint-Symphorien?

01. The town hall

In the heart of the town and in a park, bordered by a reach and alleys, the castle, former seat of the lordship, was probably rebuilt in the 19th century. Only are kept two primitive towers flanking the main facade.

To have : the panoramic wallpapers of the mayor's office and deputies, dating from 1825 and classified as Historic Monuments.

02. Lens Castle (private)

This listed castle, built in the 18th century in the heart ofa French garden andan English park, devotes his organic farming activity since 2003.

Other curiosities to see:

  • The St-Symphorien church registered in 1927 (Romanesque nave extended by another Gothic one, 1613th century bell tower, statue of the Virgin and Child nestled in a buttress, crucifix from XNUMX on the north wall)
  • The outbuildings of the old Crespé home presenting a curious facade planted with bones in five rows
  • The administrative, social and cultural center in the town hall park (bujhaïe museum, orangery, bread oven)
  • The Baril reach supplying several wash houses

Was this content useful to you?