A municipality in quality architectural and landscape heritage. Celles-sur-Belle brings together the municipalities of Saint-Médard, Verrines-sous-Celles and Montigné.


The Royal Abbey

Celles-sur-Belle, benefiting from Small Cities of Character® label, houses a 17th century Royal Abbey characterized by a remarkable architecture. Built on the ruins of an ancient abbey complex from the 11th century, this major historic site today offers a variety of cultural events such as exhibitions, academies, concerts and music festivals. While exploring this place, you will immerse yourself in more than a millennium of history, thus offering an overview of the development of the town through the ages. The heritage of the region is also notable, with the listed Romanesque church in the village of Verrines-sous-Celles.

CRT Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Top 3 to see and do in Celles-sur-Belle

C.Decamp

01

The Royal Abbey, its gardens and its vintage motorcycle museum

In addition to the Abbey, you can also stroll through the beautiful gardens which surround this exceptional site, offering a peaceful setting conducive to serenity. In addition to its rich heritage, the Abbey houses a unique museum dedicated to old motorcycles, offering enthusiasts a fascinating collection. Between centuries-old architecture, serene nature and original museum, the Royal Abbey of Celles-sur-Belle will only seduce you.

Learn more

CD79 – Philippe Wall

02

The church of Verrines-sous-Celles

Less than five minutes by car, in Verrines-sous-Celles, Saint-Maixent church is one of essential places of Romanesque art. Next to an old small priory, this church bears witness to a very rich historical past.

Learn more

CD79 – Philippe Wall

03

House of Goat Cheeses

The House of Goat Cheeses, a unique place in New Aquitaine to discover the goat heritage of Charentes-Poitou.

Learn more

Other curiosities near Celles-sur-Belle

Town of Celles-sur-Belle

A poetic stroll

In January 2013, Celles-sur-Belle was honored with the title of “City in poetry”. Every spring, the city celebrates this attribute through Celloises Poetic Weeks, marked by a multitude of poetic events. Throughout the year, a specially designed poetic journey along a heritage route cellois offers residents and visitors the unique opportunity to associate the walk with the discovery of poems.

Terra Aventura

You have the soul of a adventurer and puzzles don't scare you? So go with Zetoulu on the Tèrra Aventura geocaching course “The Beast seeks his Beauty”. Over a 3km course, you will be asked several puzzles. They will allow you to access the famous cache and its mystery word. A small reward will delight young and old.

Terra Aventura

Contact the Pays Mellois Tourist Office

MELLOIS COUNTRY TOURISM OFFICE
2 Place Bujault
79500 Melle
05 49 29 15 10
[email protected]
www.decouvertes.paysmellois.org

Was this content useful to you?

Une commune au patrimoine architectural et paysager de qualité. Celles-sur-Belle regroupe les communes de Saint-Médard, Verrines-sous-Celles et Montigné.


L’Abbaye Royale

Celles-sur-Belle, bénéficiant du label Petites Cités de Caractère®, abrite une Abbaye Royale du XVIIe siècle caractérisée par une architecture remarquable. Érigée sur les ruines d’un ancien complexe abbatial du XIe siècle, ce site historique majeur propose aujourd’hui une variété d’événements culturels tels que des expositions, des académies, des concerts et des festivals de musique. En explorant cet endroit, vous plongerez dans plus d’un millénaire d’histoire, offrant ainsi un aperçu du développement de la commune à travers les époques. Le patrimoine de la région est également notable, avec l’église romane classée du village de Verrines-sous-Celles.

CRT Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Top 3 à voir et à faire à Celles-sur-Belle

C.Decamp

01

L’Abbaye Royale, ses jardins et son musée de motos anciennes

En plus de l’Abbaye, vous pourrez également flâner dans les magnifiques jardins qui entourent ce site exceptionnel, offrant un cadre paisible propice à la sérénité. En plus de son riche patrimoine, l’Abbaye abrite un musée unique dédié aux motos anciennes, offrant aux passionnés une collection fascinante. Entre architecture séculaire, nature sereine et musée original, l’Abbaye Royale de Celles-sur-Belle ne pourra que vous séduire.

En savoir plus

CD79 – Philippe Wall

02

L’église de Verrines-sous-Celles

À moins de cinq minutes en voiture, à Verrines-sous-Celles, l’église Saint-Maixent est un des lieux incontournables de l’art roman. À côté d’un ancien petit prieuré, cette église témoigne d’un passé historique très riche.

En savoir plus

CD79 – Philippe Wall

03

Maison des Fromages de Chèvre

La Maison des fromages de chèvre, un lieu unique en Nouvelle-Aquitaine pour découvrir le patrimoine caprin de Charentes-Poitou.

En savoir plus

Les autres curiosités à proximité de Celles-sur-Belle

Ville de Celles-sur-Belle

Une balade poétique

En janvier 2013, Celles-sur-Belle a été honorée du titre de « Ville en poésie ». Chaque printemps, la ville célèbre cet attribut à travers les Semaines Poétiques Celloises, marquées par une multitude d’événements poétiques. Tout au long de l’année, un cheminement poétique spécialement aménagé le long d’un itinéraire patrimonial cellois offre aux résidents et aux visiteurs l’opportunité unique d’associer la promenade à la découverte de poèmes.

Tèrra Aventura

Vous avez l’âme d’un aventurier et les énigmes ne vous font pas peur ? Alors, partez avec Zétoulu sur le parcours de géocaching Tèrra Aventura “La Bête cherche sa Belle”. Sur un parcours de 3km, plusieurs énigmes vous seront posées. Elles vous permettront d’accéder à la fameuse cache et son mot mystère. Une petite récompenses ravira les petits et grands.

Tèrra Aventura

Contactez l’Office de Tourisme du Pays Mellois

OFFICE DE TOURISME DU PAYS MELLOIS
2 Place Bujault
79500 Melle
05 49 29 15 10
[email protected]
www.decouvertes.paysmellois.org

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu