Le Bernard d'Agesci museum de Niort, one of the most important museums in the Great West. It presents over 6m300, 2 sections: Fine Arts, Music (mainly around the luthier Auguste Tolbecque) Natural History et the conservatory and observatory of education. This museum welcomes have one of the rare national painting restoration workshops!


The history of the Bernard d'Agesci Museum

Augustin Bernard aka Bernard d'Agesci born in Niort in 1756. From a bourgeois family, he was a student at the Collège de l'Oratoire in Niort before being sent to Paris to study the great masters. He then enters the workshop Jean-Bernard Restout at the Royal Academy of Painting and Sculpture. It finds place in this Artistic Paris as evidenced by the presence of six of his paintings in the collections of the Marquis Louis-Gabriel de Véri, who is probably at the origin of his departure for Italy where he stayed from 1783 to 1789, in Bologna and Rome. He returned to Paris in 1789 to the heart of the bubbling cauldron of French Revolution. At the Salon of 1791 in Paris, year III of freedom, he exhibited 9 paintings under the name of Bernard Dagescy or D'Agesci. In 1792, he prepared to enter the Academy when it was abolished. Revolutionary events forced him to leave Paris and settle in Niort. Would you like to know more about its history? Consult the press kit at the end of the page.

Did you know?

The building which houses the museum was originally a high school for girls. It was designed by the Niort architect Georges Lasseron (1844-1932). It will retain its educational vocation until 1993. Its transformation into a museum was decided in 1995.

Philip Wall

Parthenay earthenware ceiling

Created by Prosper Jouneau for the Universal Exhibition of 1889, visible at the Bernard d'Agesci museum.

The Fine Arts and Decorative Arts section

These collections of Bernard d'Agesci museum highlight the evolution of the representation of bodies in painting and sculpture according to the political and religious contexts and medical discoveries.
The section brings together paintings from the 16th to the 20th century, mostly Flemish et dutch ; few very well-known painters, but many “little masters” of high quality and “followers” ​​of talent, such as the “Virgin of the Grapes” (Flemish School of the 1581th century) or the “Solomon and the Queen of Sheba” of the workshop of Frans II Francken known as “the young” (Antwerp, 1642-Antwerp, XNUMX), Flemish painter from the Netherlands.
In the great hall of Bernard d'Agesci museum, the visitor is welcomed by “The Apollo of the Belvedere”, a 17th century bronze statue attributed to the sculptor Hubert Le Sueur; an introduction inviting you to also discover 19th century sculptures (Poisson, Baujault, Caillet, etc.) or even the bust room.

As to decorative Art, Bernard d'Agesci museum this an exceptional collection of objects: clerical tray from Syria (1230-50), inscribed tray from Egypt or Syria (1310-40), baby armor from Persia from the XNUMXth century, etc.; France's third collection of Islamic objects but also Gothic ivories, Limoges enamels from the Renaissance, religious goldwork…
Without forgetting, the painted woodwork from the first half of the 17th century of the chapel of the castle of La Mothe-Saint-Héray (Deux-Sèvres) and the 9 m2 ceiling in Parthenay earthenware (Deux-Sèvres) exhibited in the room Auguste Tolbecque (19th-20th century musician, adopted from Niort, part of which violin making collection is showcased at the Bernard d'Agesci museum).

The Music section

This section is particularly dedicated to the violin making collection of Auguste Tolbecque, a multi-instrumentalist musician from the 19th-20th century who settled in Niort in 1856.

The Bernard d'Agesci museum immerses you, through 2 rooms, in the music room of the artist as well as in his violin making workshop Fort-Foucault (old fortress located on an islet facing the Donjon of Niort).
You will discover, among other things, reconstructions of instruments from the Middle Ages, a fifteen-stringed lyre bass from 1898 or even a cello. These instruments are all made by Auguste Tolbecque.

The Natural History section

The “day and night” space du Bernard d'Agesci museum contains of iconic mammals such as wolf or brown bear which has raptors as the long-eared owl, tailed eagle
white, golden eagle…
These animals rub shoulders in this room which evokes their diurnal or nocturnal behavior.

A important ornithology collection is mainly made up of donations au Bernard d'Agesci museum of two naturalists and taxidermists from Niort: Ingrand, former college director in Civray, then in Niort, and his disciple Marius Guimard, employed at the City of Mail, who preserved the last bearded vulture (the largest vulture in European wildlife) killed in France, in the Pyrenees.

Also to see: un a cabinet of curiosities bringing together corals, shellfish, ostrich eggs ; a collection of ammonite fossils and other marine mollusks dating between 183 and 155 million years ago; a osteological collection with skeletons of deer, monkey, golden eagle, bat, lion…

The conservatory section of the school, teaching methods and scientific objects

Philip Wall
museum-bernard-agesci-conservatory-school-niort-marais-poitevin

This section of the Bernard d'Agesci museum this the story of a century and a half of teaching: school objects and furniture (museum cabinet used for object lessons), scientific devices (praxinoscope, the beginnings of cinema), wall maps, works middle and high schools.


Open. Closes at 13:00 p.m.
26 avenue de Limoges
79000 Niort
Calculate my route

Was this content useful to you?

Le musée Bernard d’Agesci de Niort, l’un des plus importants musées du Grand-Ouest. Il présente sur 6 300m2, 4 sections : Beaux-Arts, Musique (essentiellement autour du luthier Auguste Tolbecque) Histoire Naturelle et le conservatoire et observatoire de l’éducation. Ce musée accueille également l’un des rares ateliers nationaux de restauration de peintures !


L’histoire du Musée Bernard d’Agesci

Augustin Bernard alias Bernard d’Agesci né à Niort en 1756. Issu d’une famille bourgeoise, il est élève au Collège de l’Oratoire à Niort avant d’être envoyé à Paris pour étudier les grands maîtres. Il entre alors dans l’atelier de Jean-Bernard Restout à l’Académie Royale de Peinture et de Sculpture. Il trouve place dans ce Paris artistique comme en témoigne la présence de six de ses tableaux dans les collections du marquis Louis-Gabriel de Véri, qui est probablement à l’origine de son départ pour l’Italie où il séjourne de 1783 à 1789, à Bologne et à Rome. Il revient à Paris en 1789 au cœur du chaudron bouillonnant de la Révolution française. Au Salon de 1791 à Paris, an III de la liberté, il expose 9 tableaux sous le nom de Bernard Dagescy ou D’Agesci. En 1792, il prépare son entrée à l’Académie lorsque celle-ci est abolie. Les événements révolutionnaires l’obligent à quitter Paris et à s’installer à Niort. Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur son histoire ? Consultez le dossier de presse en bas de la page.

Le saviez-vous ?

Le bâtiment qui accueille le musée était à l’origine un lycée pour jeunes filles. Il a été conçu par l’architecte niortais Georges Lasseron (1844-1932). Il conservera sa vocation scolaire jusqu’en 1993. Sa transformation en musée est décidée en 1995.

Philippe Wall

Plafond en faïence de Parthenay

Réalisé par Prosper Jouneau pour l’Exposition universelle de 1889, visible au musée Bernard d’Agesci.

La section Beaux-Arts et arts décoratifs

Ces collections du musée Bernard d’Agesci mettent en exergue l’évolution de la représentation des corps dans la peinture et la sculpture selon les contextes politiques et religieux et les découvertes médicales.
La section regroupe des peintures du XVIème au XXème siècle, surtout flamandes et hollandaises ; peu de peintres très connus, mais beaucoup de “petits maîtres” de haute qualité et “suiveurs” de talent, comme la “Vierge aux raisins” (Ecole flamande du XVIème siècle) ou le “Salomon et la Reine de Saba” de l’atelier de Frans II Francken dit “le jeune” (Anvers, 1581-Anvers, 1642), peintre flamand des Pays-Bas.
Dans le grand hall du musée Bernard d’Agesci, le visiteur est accueilli par “L’Apollon du Belvédère”, statue de bronze du XVIIème siècle attribuée au sculpteur Hubert Le Sueur ; une entrée en matière invitant à découvrir aussi les sculptures du XIXème siècle (Poisson, Baujault, Caillet…) ou bien encore la salle des bustes.

Quant aux arts décoratifs, le musée Bernard d’Agesci présente un fonds exceptionnel d’objets : plateau aux clercs provenant de Syrie (1230-50), plateau inscrit provenant d’Egypte ou de Syrie (1310-40), armure de bébé de Perse du XVIème siècle… ; la troisième collection de France d’objets islamiques mais aussi d’ivoires gothiques, d’émaux de Limoges de la Renaissance, d’orfèvrerie religieuse…
Sans oublier, les boiseries peintes de la première moitié du XVIIème siècle de la chapelle du château de La Mothe-Saint-Héray (Deux-Sèvres) et le plafond de 9 m2 en faïence de Parthenay (Deux-Sèvres) exposé dans la salle Auguste Tolbecque (musicien du XIXème-XXème siècle, niortais d’adoption, dont une partie de sa collection de lutherie est mise en valeur au musée Bernard d’Agesci).

La section Musique

Cette section est en particulier dédiée à la collection de lutherie d’Auguste Tolbecque, un musicien multi-instrumentiste du XIXème-XXème siècle qui s’est installé à Niort en 1856.

Le musée Bernard d’Agesci vous plonge, au travers de 2 salles, dans le salon de musique de l’artiste ainsi que dans son atelier de lutherie du Fort-Foucault (ancienne forteresse située sur un îlot face au Donjon de Niort).
Vous découvrirez, entre autres, des reconstitutions d’instruments du Moyen Âge, une basse de lyre à quinze cordes de 1898 ou encore un violoncelle. Ces instruments sont tous réalisés par Auguste Tolbecque.

La section Histoire Naturelle

L’espace “le jour et la nuit” du musée Bernard d’Agesci renferme des mammifères emblématiques comme le loup ou l’ours brun mais aussi des rapaces comme le hibou Moyen-Duc, pygargue à queue
blanche, aigle royal…
Ces animaux se côtoient dans cette salle qui évoque leur comportement diurne ou nocturne.

Une importante collection d’ornithologie est constituée principalement des dons au musée Bernard d’Agesci de deux naturalistes et taxidermistes niortais : Ingrand, ancien directeur de collège à Civray, puis à Niort, et son disciple Marius Guimard, employé à la Ville au courrier, qui a conservé le dernier gypaète barbu (le plus grand vautour de la faune européenne) tué en France, dans les Pyrénées.

À voir aussi : un cabinet de curiosités regroupant des coraux, des coquillages, des œufs d’autruche ; une collection de fossiles d’ammonites et autres mollusques marins datant d’entre 183 et 155 millions d’années ; une collection ostéologique avec des squelettes de cerf, singe, aigle royal, chauve-souris, lion…

La section conservatoire de l’école, des méthodes pédagogiques et des objets scientifiques

Philippe Wall
musee-bernard-agesci-conservatoire-ecole-niort-marais-poitevin

Cette section du musée Bernard d’Agesci présente l’histoire d’un siècle et demi d’enseignement : objets et mobilier scolaires (armoire-musée utilisée pour les leçons de choses), appareils scientifiques (praxinoscope, les prémices du cinéma), cartes murales, ouvrages de collèges et lycées.


En savoir plus

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu