In the heart of the capital of Poitevin marsh, in the famous and atypical village of coulon about Two Sevres, the Maison du Marais Poitevin offers a fun and educational journey to discover the history of this great Regional natural park renamed.


The ideal starting point for visiting the Marais Poitevin

The House of the Marais Poitevin is more than just a museum, it is a ecomuseum. It is an essential place, dedicated to preservation and dissemination of the culture of the history of Poitevin marsh. The ideal starting point to discover and understand the largest marsh on the Atlantic coast: 

  • a visit duration of 1h30 in more than 700 m2,
  • 5 exhibition rooms,
  • the Maraiscope (animated projection on the history of Poitevin marsh),
  • of passionate guides and facilitators,
  • extensive shop and bookstore.
House of the Marais Poitevin

The Maraiscope

A projection of archive images, engravings and contemporary films are projected at the same time as a 15m² model lights up as the explanations progress.

A place for families

The House of the Marais Poitevin is perfect for spend time with family while having fun ! Children will be able to discover the story of the creation of Poitevin marsh, natural region of France divided into 3 departments: Deux-Sèvres, Vendée, Charente-Maritime. Le Poitevin marsh also called Green Venice was completely developed by man. The museum will help you understand the main stages of this building.

You will also learn more about flagship activity du Poitevin marsh : the bark. Before becoming a tourist activity as we know it today, it was above all a means of transport at the time when there were few roads. Cows but also wood were transported there.

Et the pigouille, You know what it is ? To move a boat forward, what do you use? A paddle? Well no, it’s really this funny word, la pigouille, which was used to move the boat forward by planting it in the mud! You will see, several are on display in the museum, they look like large wooden sticks.

The House of the Marais Poitevin, it is also the place that takes us back into the past to discover the customs of yesteryear. You will visit a exact reconstruction of a market garden house of the time. Through real objects, you will understand how a family lived in a single room which served as a bedroom, kitchen and also a dining room.
Don't hesitate to ask when you arrive at the museum the activity book on the marsh paths. This notebook is free and offers various games and puzzles to do during your visit.
The museum also offers educational activities for schools and groups as well as guided tours.

Niort – Marais Poitevin Tourist Office
Exhibition house of the Poitevin Coulon marsh

Temporary exhibition space

At the end of your visit, included in the price of your ticket, enjoy the temporary exhibition of the year.

Each season, the ecomuseum offers a temporary exhibition related to a theme of the Marais Poitevin. Photography, painting, sculpture… Several arts are represented there.

Continue with a visit to the Marais Poitevin by boat

What if you put into practice what you have just learned inside the Maison du Marais Poitevin? Our advice is to continue this visit on the water!
Go by boat, alone or accompanied by a boatman guide and let yourself be carried away by this Green Venice French-style !

Open your eyes wide, observe the pigouilles diving into the water, you will probably see the spectacular phenomenon of fire on the water. You will certainly come across a family of nutria on your way, admire their ease in the water! And then you will arrive in front the famous and legendary house with blue shutters. It's certain, you've already seen it in painting, on postcards or even on television!


Firm. Opens at 14:00 p.m.
5 Custom Square
79510 COULON
Calculate my route

Was this content useful to you?

En plein cœur de la capitale du Marais poitevin, dans le célèbre et atypique village de Coulon dans les Deux-Sèvres, la Maison du Marais poitevin propose un parcours ludique et didactique pour découvrir l’histoire de ce grand Parc naturel régional renommé.


Le point de départ idéal pour visiter le Marais poitevin

La Maison du Marais poitevin est plus qu’un simple musée, c’est un écomusée. C’est un lieu incontournable, consacré à la préservation et à la diffusion de la culture de l’histoire du Marais poitevin. Le point de départ idéal pour découvrir et comprendre le plus vaste marais de la façade atlantique : 

  • une durée de visite de 1h30 dans plus de 700 m2,
  • 5 salles d’exposition,
  • le Maraiscope (projection animée sur l’histoire du Marais poitevin),
  • des guides animateurs passionnés,
  • une vaste boutique et librairie.
Maison du Marais Poitevin

Le Maraiscope

Une projection d’images d’archives, de gravures et de films contemporains sont projetés en même temps qu’une maquette de 15m² s’illumine au fur et à mesure des explications.

Un lieu pour les familles

La Maison du Marais poitevin est parfaite pour passer un moment en famille tout en s’amusant ! Les enfants pourront découvrir l’histoire de la création du Marais poitevin, région naturelle de France divisée sur 3 départements : les Deux-Sèvres, la Vendée, la Charente-Maritime. Le Marais poitevin appelé également Venise Verte a été totalement aménagé par l’homme. Le musée vous aidera à comprendre les grandes étapes de cet édifice.

Vous en apprendrez également davantage sur l’ activité phare du Marais poitevin : la barque. Avant de devenir une activité touristique comme nous la connaissons aujourd’hui, elle était avant tout un moyen de transport à l’époque où il y avait peu de routes. On y acheminé les vaches mais également le bois.

Et la pigouille, vous savez ce que c’est ? Pour faire avancer une barque, qu’utilisez-vous ? Une pagaie ? Et bien non, c’est bien ce mot rigolo, la pigouille, qui servait à faire avancer la barque en la plantant dans la vase ! Vous verrez, plusieurs sont exposées dans le musée, elles ressemblent à de grands bâtons en bois.

La Maison du Marais poitevin, c’est aussi l’endroit qui nous fait replonger dans le passé pour y découvrir les coutumes d’autrefois. Vous visiterez une reconstitution exacte d’une maison maraîchine de l’époque. À travers de véritables objets, vous comprendrez comment vivait une famille dans une seule et unique pièce qui servait à la fois de chambre, de cuisine mais aussi de salle à manger.
N’hésitez pas à demander à votre arrivée au musée le carnet d’activités sur les chemins du marais. Ce carnet est gratuit et propose divers jeux et énigmes à faire durant votre visite.
Le musée propose également des activités pédagogiques pour les écoles et les groupes ainsi que des visites guidées.

Office de Tourisme Niort – Marais Poitevin
Exposition maison du marais poitevin Coulon

Espace d’exposition temporaire

À la fin de votre visite, compris dans le prix de votre billet, profitez de l’exposition temporaire de l’année.

À chaque saison, l’écomusée propose une exposition temporaire en rapport avec une thématique du Marais poitevin. Photographie, peinture, sculpture… Plusieurs arts y sont représentés.

Poursuivez avec une visite du Marais poitevin en barque

Et si vous mettiez en pratique ce que vous venez d’apprendre à l’intérieur de la Maison du Marais poitevin ? Notre conseil, c’est de poursuivre cette visite sur l’eau !
Partez en barque, seul ou accompagné d’un guide batelier et laissez-vous porter par cette Venise Verte à la française !

Ouvrez grand les yeux, observez les pigouilles qui plongent dans l’eau, vous y verrez probablement le phénomène spectaculaire du feu sur l’eau. Vous croiserez certainement une famille de ragondin sur votre route, admirez leur aisance dans l’eau ! Et puis vous arriverez devant la célèbre et mythique maison aux volets bleus. C’est certain, vous l’avez déjà vu en peinture, sur des cartes postales ou encore à la télévision !


Fermé. Ouvre à 14h00
5 place de la Coutume
79510 COULON
Calculer mon itinéraire

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?