Sail for a few days on the Sèvre Niortaise between Niort in Deux-Sèvres et Marans in Charente-Maritime to discover the river, the typical villages, make a stop and take your bike or an small boat a few hours to sink into the conches and canals of the Marais Poitevin, it's possible ! On board a habitable barge, become captain of your boat. You will navigate on a preserved river, in a Grand Site of France, the heart of Marais Poitevin Regional Natural Park. At your own pace, along the water, you will appreciate the variety of natural landscapes and the beauty of the market garden villages which punctuate this circuit.


The birth of the project

Le Marais Poitevin Regional Natural Park and the partner communities wanted to revive a forgotten form of tourism on the Sèvre: river tourism thanks to cruises in habitable barges.

This project is the prospect of a discovery or an rediscovery of fauna and flora, of the shores and cultural heritage. of a territory which crosses 3 departments, an excellent way to discover the waterways and to pass relaxing vacation on the water. These boats are designed to be used as accommodation, equipped with all the comfort necessary to spend several days or even several weeks on board.

The Marais Poitevin Regional Natural Park, which owns the boats, has granted management of the latter to the Pamplemousse/Kapalouest Agency under the name At the end of the marsh following a call for tenders process.

This family agency specialized in nautical activities has been established in the region for many years and wishes to maintain the local dimension who has guided the project since its beginnings. The agency is responsible for the marketing and operation of boats on the Sèvre Niortaise and its tributaries. It will be installed in season in the premises of the captaincy of Port Boinot, in Niort, departure town. The structure is responsible for gradually developing its offer of services and stays in the region over time.

Cruise on the Sèvre Niortaise

Presentation of habitable barges

We present to you Helios et Kifanlo, 2 habitable barges 4 to 6 beds.

All of this electric boats 13 meters long can be piloted without a boat license. A quick training will be given to you before your departure in order to familiarize yourself with the boat and know the navigation rules as the operation of the locks for example.

These 2 barges have an aluminum hull, solar panels and a bow thruster to facilitate maneuvering. They are silent and non-polluting et meet the ecological requirements of the Marais Poitevin.

Inside the barges, you will find: 2 bedrooms, a bathroom with hot water, a toilet, a fully equipped kitchen, a living room and of course a magnificent outdoor terrace.

For greater comfort, the boats are also equipped with heating, 220v sockets in the cabins and living room, USB sockets, a barbecue and fishing rods. In addition, you will find documentation such as maps of the Sèvre or even the tourist documentation…

What to see while browsing?

On board your barge, set off for a 100 kilometer water adventure (or less, it's up to you!), crossing incredible landscapes in peace. Explore the canals and make stops at one or more of the stops provided for this purpose and offered to you on the 3 departments where the Marais Poitevin extends:

TWO SEVRES

– Niort: discover the medieval history of the charming town of Niort, enjoy its picturesque cobbled streets, its rich architectural and historical heritage, particularly with the famous and majestic Donjon. Don't hesitate to stock up on supplies at the covered market located in Les Halles, in the city center. On the menu: local products, from the short circuit and of high quality!

– La Roussille: in Niort is an ideal relaxing and intimate place to take a break. You can observe its lock located near the restaurant which bears the same name.

– Magné: typical village of the Marais Poitevin. Several things to see are offered to you: the metal bridge, the Four Pontet cultural space, the Marais Pin site and its lock keeper's house or the 2,5 km hike entitled "From Port to Port", ideal for discovering his little heritage.

– Coulon, capital of Green Venice and Small Cities of Character®: it is the market garden village par excellence. Immerse yourself in the peaceful and authentic atmosphere of Coulon, where the canals lined with greenery lend themselves perfectly to the famous boat trip for a unique experience in unspoiled nature.

– Arçais, Small Cities of Character®: village with bucolic and picturesque charm where small bridges span the canals and traditional houses make it an ideal destination for a relaxing getaway and to stretch your legs along the towpath.

VENDEE

– Damvix: you will meet a colleague on the water since this is where the gastronomic cruise is located on the restaurant boat “le Collibert II”. Ideal for discovering local gastronomy such as eel fricassee or some frog legs!

– Bouille-Courdault: you are on the Vieille Autise canal. Stroll around and discover the many fountains in the town. Not far from there, 10 minutes away, stand the grandiose Abbeys of Maillezais and Nieul-sur-l'Autise.

– Mesh: last stop before changing departments. Discover the Notre-Dame de l’Assomption church or its Aqueduct.

CHARENTE MARITIME

– La Ronde – Bazoin: welcome to Charente-Maritime! Get off at the Bazoin piers and enjoy the many activities such as boating, kayaking or even paddle boarding. Rent bikes to explore the trails or let nature guides guide you in the footsteps of the marsh fauna.

– La Grève-sur-Mignon: the small bucolic port of Grève-sur-Mignon is perfect for making a few casts! Take out the rods and try to fish for big fish (but don't forget to bring a fishing license in advance).

– Taugon – The Combrands: peaceful town ideal for a beautiful walk along the water at a place called Les Combrands. If you pass by the second weekend of September, stop to take part in the Festival of Threshing, a tribute to ancient agriculture.

– Marans: you have arrived at the end of this adventure. A thousand-year-old town between land and sea, Marans is full of treasures with its marina, its astonishing church tower, its 19th century marketrd century and its flowery gardens.

Embark aboard the 100% electric pleasure boat and enjoy 100% discovery of the marsh. Gliding on the water in silence, you will get as close as possible to the abundant nature of the marsh.


Farm. Opens tomorrow at 10:30 p.m.
Belle-Île wharf Port Boinot slipway
79000 Niort
Calculate my route

Was this content useful to you?

Naviguez quelques jours sur la Sèvre Niortaise entre Niort en Deux-Sèvres et Marans en Charente-Maritime pour découvrir le fleuve, les villages typiques, faire une halte et prendre son vélo ou une barque quelques heures pour s’enfoncer dans les conches et canaux du Marais Poitevin, c’est possible ! À bord d’une pénichette habitable, devenez capitaine de votre embarcation. Vous naviguerez sur un fleuve préservé, dans un Grand Site de France, au cœur du Parc Naturel Régional du Marais Poitevin. À votre rythme, au fil de l’eau, vous apprécierez la variété des paysages naturels et la beauté des villages maraîchins qui ponctuent ce circuit.


La naissance du projet

Le Parc Naturel Régional du Marais Poitevin et les collectivités partenaires ont souhaité redonner vie à une forme de tourisme oubliée sur la Sèvre : le tourisme fluvial grâce à des croisières en pénichettes habitables.

Ce projet, c’est la perspective d’une découverte ou d’une redécouverte de la faune et de la flore, des rivages et du patrimoine d’un territoire qui traverse 3 départements, une excellente façon de découvrir les voies navigables et de passer des vacances relaxantes sur l’eau. Ces embarcations sont conçues pour être utilisées comme des logements, équipées de tout le confort nécessaire pour passer plusieurs jours ou même plusieurs semaines à bord.

Le Parc Naturel Régional du Marais Poitevin, qui est propriétaire des bateaux, a concédé la gestion de ces derniers à l’Agence Pamplemousse/Kapalouest sous la dénomitation Au Bout du Marais à la suite d’un processus d’appel d’offres.

Cette agence familiale spécialisée dans les activités nautiques est implantée dans la région depuis de nombreuses années et souhaite conserver la dimension locale qui guide le projet depuis ses prémices. L’agence est responsable de la commercialisation et de l’exploitation des bateaux sur la Sèvre Niortaise et ses affluents. Elle sera installée en saison dans les locaux de la capitainerie de Port Boinot, à Niort, ville de départ. La structure est chargée de développer progressivement son offre de prestations et de séjours dans la région au fil du temps.

Croisière sur la sèvre niortaise

Présentation des pénichettes habitables

On vous présente Hélios et Kifanlo, 2 pénichettes habitables de 4 à 6 couchages.

Ces embarcations électriques de 13 mètres de long se pilotent sans permis bateau. Une rapide formation vous sera donnée avant votre départ afin de vous familiariser avec le bateau et bien connaître les règles de navigation comme le fonctionnement des écluses par exemple.

Ces 2 pénichettes sont dotées d’une coque en aluminium, de panneaux solaires et d’un propulseur d’étrave pour faciliter les manœuvres. Elles sont silencieuses et non polluantes et répondent aux exigences écologiques du Marais Poitevin.

À l’intérieur des pénichettes, vous trouverez : 2 chambres, une salle de bain avec eau chaude, un WC, une cuisine entièrement équipée, un salon et bien évidemment une magnifique terrasse extérieure.

Pour plus de confort, les embarcations sont munies également de chauffage, de prises 220v dans les cabines et le salon, de prises USB, d’un barbecue et de cannes à pêche. De plus, vous trouverez de la documentation comme les cartes de la Sèvre ou encore de la documentation touristique…

Que voir en cours de navigation ?

À bord de votre pénichette, partez pour une aventure de 100 kilomètres sur l’eau (ou moins, c’est vous qui décidez !), traversant des paysages incroyables en toute quiétude. Explorez les canaux et faites des arrêts sur l’une ou plusieurs des haltes prévues à cet effet et qui vous sont proposées sur les 3 départements où s’étend le Marais Poitevin :

DEUX-SEVRES

– Niort : découvrez l’histoire médiévale de la charmante ville de Niort, profitez de ses rues pavées pittoresques, de son riche patrimoine architectural et historique notamment avec le célèbre et majestueux Donjon. N’hésitez pas à faire le plein en ravitaillement au marché couvert situé aux Halles, en centre-ville. Au menu : des produits locaux, issus du circuit court et de grande qualité !

– La Roussille : à Niort est un lieu de détente idéal et intimiste pour faire une pause. Vous pourrez y observer son écluse située à proximité du restaurant qui porte le même nom.

– Magné : village typique du Marais Poitevin. Plusieurs choses à voir vous y sont offertes : le pont métallique, l’espace culturel du Four Pontet, le site du Marais Pin et sa maison éclusière ou encore la randonnée de 2,5 km intitulée « De Port en Port », idéale pour découvrir son petit patrimoine.

– Coulon, capitale de la Venise Verte et Petites Cités de Caractère® : c’est le village maraîchin par excellence. Plongez dans l’atmosphère paisible et authentique de Coulon, où les canaux bordés de verdure se prêtent parfaitement à la célèbre balade en barque pour une expérience unique dans une nature préservée.

– Arçais, Petites Cités de Caractère® : village au charme bucolique et pittoresque où les petits ponts enjambent les canaux et les maisons traditionnelles en font une destination idéale pour une escapade relaxante et pour se dégourdir les jambes le long du chemin de halage.

VENDÉE

– Damvix : vous rencontrerez un confrère sur l’eau puisque c’est ici que se trouve la croisière gastronomique sur le bateau-restaurant “le Collibert II”. Idéale pour découvrir la gastronomie locale comme une fricassée d’anguilles ou quelques cuisses de grenouilles !

– Bouillé-Courdault : vous êtes sur le canal de la Vieille Autise. Flânez et découvrez les nombreuses fontaines de la commune. Non loin de là, à 10 minutes, se dressent les grandioses Abbayes de Maillezais et Nieul-sur-l’Autise.

– Maillé : dernière halte avant de changer de département. Découvrez l’église Notre-Dame de l’Assomption ou encore son Aqueduc.

CHARENTE-MARITIME

– La Ronde – Bazoin : bienvenue en Charente-Maritime ! Descendez aux embarcadères de Bazoin et profitez des nombreuses activités comme de la barque, du kayak ou encore du paddle. Louez des vélos pour parcourir les sentiers ou laissez-vous guider par les animateurs nature sur les traces de la faune du marais.

– La Grève-sur-Mignon : le petit port bucolique de la Grève-sur-Mignon se prête parfaitement pour faire quelques lancés ! Sortez les cannes et tentez de pêcher du gros (mais n’oubliez pas de vous munir en amont d’une carte de pêche).

– Taugon – Les Combrands : paisible commune propice à une belle balade le long de l’eau au lieu-dit Les Combrands. Si vous passez par là le deuxième week-end de septembre, arrêtez-vous pour participer à la Fête des battages, un hommage rendu à l’agriculture ancienne.

– Marans : vous voilà arrivé à la fin de cette aventure. Ville millénaire entre terre et mer, Marans regorge de trésors avec son port de plaisance, son étonnant clocher d’église, son marché du 19ème siècle et ses jardins fleuris.

Embarquez à bord du bateau de plaisance 100% électrique, c’est profiter à 100% de la découverte du marais. Glissant sur l’eau en silence, vous approcherez au plus près de la nature foisonnante du marais.


Ouvert. Ferme à 17h00
Quai de Belle-Île Cale de Port Boinot
79000 NIORT
Calculer mon itinéraire

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?