Medieval, botanical, contemporary are the three facets of the city which give it its attractiveness and dynamics. Melle has expanded thanks to its grouping with 4 other municipalities, Mazières-sur-Béronne, Paizay-le-Tort, Saint-Léger-de-la-Martinière, Saint-Martin-lès-Melle, which also have many attractions.


City of many riches

Melle, labeled Petites Cités de Caractère®, is a town with many facets, surprising in its cultural diversity and richness of its historical, botanical and artistic heritage.

Melle owes its origin to its silver galena mines, exploited between the 7th and 10th centuries, for their minting of Carolingian royal coins. The town has three Romanesque churches: Saint-Savinien, Saint-Pierre and Saint-Hilaire, the latter of which is listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site under the “Paths of Saint Jacques de Compostela”.

CD79 – Philippe Wall
L.Précigou – Pays Mellois Tourist Office

Melle is also a nature city, with its botanical trail, the “Path of Discovery”, labeled Remarkable Garden, which surrounds it and offers more than 1800 species of trees, shrubs and varieties of roses. In the city, contemporary creation is in the spotlight. Numerous lasting works of art challenge visitors during their visit. It also has a strategic position, crossed by several routes including the GR® 655, Chemin de Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle and the Vélidale (V93)

Top 5 to see and do in Melle

CD79 – Philippe Wall

01

Silver Mines

The oldest visitable silver mines in the world, exploited at the time of Charlemagne, until the end of the 10th century for the Melle monetary workshop.

 

Learn more

Pays Mellois Tourist Office

02

The 3 churches

Those are 3 Catholic churches in the Romanesque style, 2 of which are today desecrated and serve as cultural place. The third, the Saint-Hilaire church, is classified as Unesco World Heritage.

Learn more

Sandrine Chargé – Pays Mellois Tourist Office

03

Contemporary Art Biennial

Iconic event of the city, which takes place every two years, characterized by setting up exhibitions in places of built heritage (churches, temple, Hôtel de Ménoc) and in vegetated places (parks, “Discovery Path”)…

Learn more

Pays Mellois Tourist Office

04

Path of Discovery

The Discovery Trail is a unique example of reconversion of an old railway line in an arboretum with nearly 1800 trees and shrubs recorded (including 250 rose bushes). A discovery of the city through its plant heritage over more than 6 km.

Learn more

L.Précigou – Pays Mellois Tourist Office

05

Monet Goyon

Discover the prestigious motorcycle manufacturer Monet & Goyon, in the museum entirely dedicated to him in Melle. It brings together a fabulous collection of restored machines in accordance with the origin.

Learn more

Other curiosities near Celles-sur-Belle

Pays Mellois Tourist Office

Small Towns of Character®


The town of Melle has the privilege of carrying the “Small Cities of Character®” label. This label, awarded in recognition of its Architectural Heritage and its authentic charm, underlines Melle's commitment to preserve and promote its historical heritage.

Terra Aventura

You have the soul of a adventurer and puzzles don't scare you? So, go with Zouti on the Tèrra Aventura geocaching course “Charlemagne’s stolen penny”. Over a 5 km course, you will be asked several puzzles. They will allow you to access the famous cache and its mystery word. A small reward will delight young and old.

Terra Aventura

Contact the Pays Mellois Tourist Office

MELLOIS COUNTRY TOURISM OFFICE
2 Place Bujault
79500 Melle
05 49 29 15 10
[email protected]
www.decouvertes.paysmellois.org

Was this content useful to you?

Médiévale, botanique, contemporaine sont les trois facettes de la ville qui lui confèrent son attractivité et sa dynamique. Melle s’est agrandie grâce à son regroupement avec 4 autres communes, Mazières-sur-Béronne, Paizay-le-Tort, Saint-Léger-de-la-Martinière, Saint-Martin-lès-Melle, qui possèdent elles aussi de nombreux attraits.


Ville aux multiples richesses

Melle, labellisée Petites Cités de Caractère®, est une ville aux multiples facettes, surprenante par sa diversité culturelle et la richesse de son patrimoine historique, botanique et artistique.

Melle doit son origine à ses mines de galène argentifère, exploitées entre le VII et le X siècle, pour leur frappe de monnaies royales carolingiennes. La ville possède trois églises romanes : Saint-Savinien, Saint-Pierre et Saint-Hilaire dont cette dernière est inscrite au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO au titre « des Chemins de Saint Jacques de Compostelle ».

CD79 – Philippe Wall
L.Précigou – Office de Tourisme du Pays Mellois

Melle est aussi une cité nature, avec son parcours botanique, le “Chemin de la découverte”, labellisé Jardin Remarquable, qui l’entoure et offre plus de 1800 espèces d’arbres, arbustes et variétés de roses. Dans la ville, la création contemporaine est à l’honneur. De nombreuses œuvres d’art pérennes interpellent les visiteurs au grès de leur visite. Elle possède également une position stratégique, traversée par plusieurs itinéraires dont le GR® 655, chemin de Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle et la Vélidéale (V93)

Top 5 à voir et à faire à Melle

CD79 – Philippe Wall

01

Les Mines d’Argent

Les plus anciennes mines d’argent visitables au monde, exploitées à l’époque de Charlemagne, jusqu’à la fin du Xème siècle pour l’atelier monétaire de Melle.

 

En savoir plus

Office de Tourisme du Pays Mellois

02

Les 3 églises

Ce sont 3 églises catholiques au style roman, dont 2 sont aujourd’hui désacralisées et servent de lieu culturel. La troisième, l’église Saint-Hilaire est classée au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO.

En savoir plus

Sandrine Chargé – Office de Tourisme du Pays Mellois

03

Biennale d’Art Contemporaine

Évènement emblématique de la ville, qui a lieu tous les deux ans, caractérisé par la mise en place d’expositions dans des lieux de patrimoine bâti (églises, temple, Hôtel de Ménoc) et dans des lieux végétalisés (parcs, “Chemin de la Découverte”)…

En savoir plus

Office de Tourisme du Pays Mellois

04

Chemin de la Découverte

Le Chemin de la Découverte est un exemple unique de reconversion d’une ancienne voie ferrée en arboretum avec près de 1800 arbres et arbustes recensés (dont 250 rosiers).Une découverte de la ville à travers son patrimoine végétal sur plus de 6 kms.

En savoir plus

L.Précigou – Office de Tourisme du Pays Mellois

05

Monet Goyon

Découvrez le prestigieux constructeur de motos Monet & Goyon, dans le musée qui lui est entièrement dédié à Melle. Il rassemble une fabuleuse collection d’engins restaurés conformément à l’origine.

En savoir plus

Les autres curiosités à proximité de Celles-sur-Belle

Office de Tourisme du Pays Mellois

Petites Cités de Caractère®


La ville de Melle a le privilège de porter le label “Petites Cités de Caractère®”. Ce label, attribué en reconnaissance de son patrimoine architectural et de son charme authentique, souligne l’engagement de Melle à préserver et promouvoir son héritage historique.

Tèrra Aventura

Vous avez l’âme d’un aventurier et les énigmes ne vous font pas peur ? Alors, partez avec Zouti sur le parcours de géocaching Tèrra Aventura “Le sou volé de Charlemagne”. Sur un parcours de 5 kms, plusieurs énigmes vous seront posées. Elles vous permettront d’accéder à la fameuse cache et son mot mystère. Une petite récompenses ravira les petits et grands.

Tèrra Aventura

Contactez l’Office de Tourisme du Pays Mellois

OFFICE DE TOURISME DU PAYS MELLOIS
2 Place Bujault
79500 Melle
05 49 29 15 10
[email protected]
www.decouvertes.paysmellois.org

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu