La Francette bike is a famous cycling route of more than 600 kilometers, which begins at Ouistreham in Normandy, near the landing beaches and ends in La Rochelle, passing through natural landscapes and picturesque towns such as the Poitou marsh. La Francette bike mainly follows greenways, towpaths and lightly traveled roads, making it a ideal option for families et cyclists of all levels. Along the way, cyclists can discover the history, culture and gastronomy of France, while enjoying a peaceful and picturesque environment.


Francette bike
bike-map-francette-niort-marais-poitevin

What is Vélo Francette?

La Vélo Francette (formerly V43) is a cycle route of 628 km which connects Ouistreham in Calvados to La Rochelle in Charente-Maritime. The Vélo Francette crosses Normandy, Pays de la Loire and Poitou-Charentes.

She was elected Véloroute of the year 2017, a distinction offered by the organizers of the Dutch show Fiets in Wandelbeurs (bikers and hikers) in Utrecht, the Netherlands. The jury highlighted the diversity of the landscapes offered, its small bucolic Frenchy roads, as well as the quality of the accommodation on the route.

And once more ! The 2018 Route Trophy is awarded to him by the French Cycling Federation (FFCT) during the Destination Nature exhibition in Paris. This award highlights its initiatives and its significant infrastructures for the development of the bicycle offer.

From Green Venice to the Atlantic Ocean, postcard landscapes!

Let yourself be guided by Sèvre Niortaise who will tell you the Poitevin marsh. Feeding river of the Green Venice, he will take you from the center city ​​of Niort to the Ocean passing through Maraichin villages.

Winding, the Sèvre serves other arms, canals, conches and ditches forming an exceptional network of 8000 km of waterways characteristics of the marsh.

Immerse yourself in its history by letting yourself be guided by this backbone of the marsh. Crisscrossing through rich and varied landscapes, she takes you and guides you throughout your journey to the discovery of sound cultural heritage., its fauna, its flora and its traditions and legends.

Cross the wet swamp to the bay of Aiguillon, and during your stops, discover its hydraulic operation through the numerous locks, dams or ports which still punctuate the life of the maraichins.

Clo & Clem

A green setting

Large spaces to feel this feeling of tranquility. 

Philip Wall
hiking-bike-mountain-biking-niort-marais-poitevin

An itinerary accessible to all

To everyone, the Vélo Francette winds between meadows lined with trees in a flat and shaded landscape. Family, it offers several sections where the key words are tranquility, gentleness and nature.

That you are with family, couples or friends, the important thing is to take his time. Walk the route, go immersed in this Grand Site of France and discover passages that only the bike can take (bridges, footbridges, towpaths, etc.).

850 km of bike circuits connected to the route open up numerous loops for you to discover.

A whole program in the spirit of slow tourism! Discover enchanting landscapes while taking his time, fully immerse yourself in nature surrounding area, favor meetings and savor the pleasures of backgammon are the major principles of slow tourism.

01. Section: Champdeniers-Saint-Denis – Niort / 24,5 km

Champdeniers-St-Denis is an astonishing stopover offering services and a remarkable little heritage. The route arrives on the banks of the Sèvre Niortaise near Ternanteuil, alternating small roads and agricultural paths, and winds in a meander before settling on the left bank for its arrival in Niort.

02. Section: Niort – Coulon / 18,3 km

A stage at the water's edge to follow the meanders of the Sèvre Niortaise, alternating towpaths and small roads. The Roussille site, in Niort, is idyllic for taking a break from this maze of cycle loops. As a stopover, a short detour to the capital of Green Venice, Coulon, is essential.

03. Section: Coulon – Damvix / 18,1 km

In the heart of the wet marsh, bathed by the Sèvre Niortaise, Coulon offers the cyclist all the services useful for his journey on the Vélo Francette. After walking through the marshes, the route returns to the Sèvre Niortaise after Irleau. As it approaches Damvix, the canalized river adopts a tense trajectory, as if in a hurry to reach the ocean.

 

/!\ DEVIATION INFO : The Coulon – Damvix section includes a deviation due to work on the wooden decking located between Coulon and La Garette. This diversion has been in effect since June 1, 2022. You can consult this route with the deviation and the new markings to follow by clicking above or here

04. Section: Damvix – Marans / 27,4 km

The Sèvre Niortaise remains your breadcrumb trail on this stage, only twice neglected for the Canal du Nouveau Béjou and the Canal du Pomère. The route here is punctuated by the ballet of skiffs racing to discover the wet marsh. Arriving at Marans, via the quays, quickly allows you to understand this city living to the rhythm of water. A former lookout overlooking the Sèvre Niortaise estuary, the marsh and the canal, Marans is distinguished today by its singular futuristic bell tower.

05. Section: Marans – La Rochelle / 26,3 km

Final step for the Vélo Francette common with a stage of La Vélodyssée. The route runs along the Marans canal to the sea before arriving in La Rochelle via the Rompsay canal. An easy route for a grand finale with the promise of a swim in the Atlantic Ocean. The call of the islands can then prolong the sweet France effect!

Travel peacefully with the Accueil Vélo label

Accueil Vélo is a national brand which guarantees quality welcome and services among cyclists along cycle routes. With Accueil Vélo , be well received by the partner service providers of France Cycling Tourism ! The brand Accueil Vélo , They are accommodation solutionsbike rental companiesplaces to visit and Tourist offices.

To find labeled structures, go to the different categories and check in the “Bicycle welcome” label:

To find out more about the Accueil Vélo label

Was this content useful to you?

La Vélo Francette est une célèbre route cyclable de plus de 600 kilomètres, qui commence à Ouistreham en Normandie, près des plages du débarquement et se termine à La Rochelle, en passant par des paysages naturels et des villes pittoresques telles que le Marais poitevin. La Vélo Francette suit principalement des voies vertes, des chemins de halage et des routes peu fréquentées, ce qui en fait une option idéale pour les familles et les cyclistes de tous niveaux. En cours de route, les cyclistes peuvent découvrir l’histoire, la culture et la gastronomie de la France, tout en profitant d’un environnement paisible et pittoresque.


Vélo Francette
carte-velo-francette-niort-marais-poitevin

La Vélo Francette, c’est quoi ?

La Vélo Francette (anciennement V43) est une véloroute de 628 km qui relie Ouistreham dans le Calvados à La Rochelle en Charente-Maritime. La Vélo Francette traverse la Normandie, les Pays de la Loire et le Poitou-Charentes.

Elle est élue Véloroute de l’année 2017, une distinction offerte par les organisateurs du salon néerlandais Fiets en Wandelbeurs (vélos et randonneurs) à Utrecht, aux Pays-Bas. Le jury a mis en avant la diversité des paysages proposés, ses petites routes bucoliques so frenchy, ainsi que la qualité des hébergements sur le parcours.

Et rebelote ! Le Trophée de l’itinéraire 2018 lui est remis par la Fédération Française de Cyclotourisme (FFCT) lors du Salon Destination Nature à Paris. Cette récompense valorise ses initiatives et ses infrastructures marquantes pour le développement de l’offre à vélo.

De la Venise Verte à l’Océan Atlantique, des paysages de carte postale !

Laissez-vous guider par la Sèvre Niortaise qui vous contera le Marais poitevin. Fleuve nourricier de la Venise Verte, il vous emmènera du centre ville de Niort jusqu’à l’Océan en passant par des villages maraichins.

Sinueuse, la Sèvre dessert d’autres bras, canaux, conches et fossés formant un exceptionnel réseau de 8000 km de voies d’eau caractéristiques du marais.

Imprégnez-vous de son histoire en vous laissant guider par cette épine dorsale du marais. Sillonnant à travers des paysages riches et variés, elle vous emmène et vous guide tout au long de votre périple à la découverte de son patrimoine, de sa faune, de sa flore et de ses traditions et légendes.

Traversez le marais mouillé jusqu’à la baie de l’Aiguillon, et lors de vos haltes, découvrez son fonctionnement hydraulique par les nombreuses écluses, barrages ou ports qui rythment encore la vie des maraichins.

Clo & Clem

Un écrin de verdure

De grands espaces pour ressentir ce sentiment de quiétude. 

Philippe Wall
rando-velo-vtt-niort-marais-poitevin

Un itinéraire à la portée de tous

À la portée de tous, la Vélo Francette sillonne entre les prairies bordées d’arbres dans un paysage plat et ombragé. Familiale, elle offre plusieurs tronçons où les maîtres mots sont quiétude, douceur et nature.

Que vous soyez en famille, en couple ou entre amis, l’important est de prendre son temps. Parcourez l’itinéraire, partez en immersion dans ce Grand Site de France et découvrez des passages que seul le vélo peut emprunter (ponts, passerelles, chemins de halage…).

850 km de circuits vélo connectés à l’itinéraire vous ouvrent de nombreuses boucles à découvrir.

Tout un programme dans l’esprit du slow tourisme ! Découvrir des paysages enchanteurs tout en prenant son temps, s’imprégner pleinement de la nature environnante, privilégier les rencontres et savourer les plaisirs de la table sont les principes majeurs du slow tourisme.

01. Tronçon : Champdeniers-Saint-Denis – Niort / 24,5 km

Champdeniers-St-Denis est une halte étonnante proposant des services et un petit patrimoine remarquable. L’itinéraire arrive sur les bords de la Sèvre Niortaise à hauteur de Ternanteuil, alternant petites routes et chemins agricoles, et serpente dans un méandre avant de se fixer en rive gauche pour son arrivée à Niort.

02. Tronçon : Niort – Coulon / 18,3 km

Une étape à fleur d’eau à épouser les méandres de la Sèvre niortaise, alternant chemins de halage et petites routes. Le site de la Roussille, à Niort, est idyllique pour s’accorder une pause dans ce dédale de boucles cyclables. Pour faire étape, un petit détour vers la capitale de la Venise verte, Coulon, s’impose.

03. Tronçon : Coulon – Damvix / 18,1 km

Au cœur du marais mouillé, baigné par la Sèvre niortaise, Coulon propose au cycliste tous les services utiles à son périple sur la Vélo Francette. Après un cheminement dans le marais, l’itinéraire retrouve la Sèvre niortaise après Irleau. À l’approche de Damvix, le fleuve canalisé adopte une trajectoire tendue, comme empressé de rejoindre l’océan.

 

/!\ INFO DÉVIATION : Le tronçon Coulon – Damvix comporte une déviation pour cause de travaux au niveau du platelage bois situé entre Coulon et La Garette. Cette déviation est effective depuis le 1er juin 2022. Vous pouvez consulter cet itinéraire avec la déviation et le nouveau balisage à suivre en cliquant ci-dessus ou ici

04. Tronçon : Damvix – Marans / 27,4 km

La Sèvre niortaise reste votre fil d’Ariane sur cette étape, seulement délaissée par deux fois pour le canal du Nouveau Béjou et le canal du Pomère. Le parcours est ici rythmé par le ballet des esquifs filant à la découverte du marais mouillé. L’arrivée à Marans, par les quais, permet vite d’appréhender cette ville vivant au rythme de l’eau. Ancienne vigie surplombant l’estuaire de la Sèvre niortaise, le marais et le canal, Marans se distingue aujourd’hui par son singulier clocher futuriste.

05. Tronçon : Marans – La Rochelle / 26,3 km

Ultime étape pour la Vélo Francette commune avec une étape de La Vélodyssée. L’itinéraire longe le canal de Marans à la mer avant son arrivée à La Rochelle par le canal de Rompsay. Un parcours facile pour une fin en apothéose avec la promesse d’une baignade dans l’océan atlantique. L’appel des îles pourra ensuite prolonger l’effet douce France !

Voyagez serein avec le label Accueil Vélo

Accueil Vélo est une marque nationale qui garantit un accueil et des services de qualité auprès des cyclistes le long des itinéraires cyclables. Avec Accueil Vélo, soyez bien reçus chez les prestataires de services partenaires de France Vélo Tourisme ! La marque Accueil Vélo, c’est des hébergements, des loueurs de vélo, des lieux de visite et des Offices de Tourisme.

Pour retrouver les structures labellisées, rendez-vous dans les différentes catégories et cochez dans label “Accueil vélo” :

Pour en savoir plus sur le label Accueil Vélo

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu